RSS

My Inspiration for Becoming an Author

10 Dec

Ever wonder what gave your favorite author the spark to make them want to write? I have, and for most it seems reading was the key. But it was different for me.

So what was it that inspired me to write?

Would you believe me if I told you it was a TV show?

Eh, maybe that’s not such a strange thing. I’m sure other writers have been inspired by TV shows. In truth, maybe it wasn’t the show itself as much as it was the actor’s portrayal of the main character. He pulled me in—as I now know he did to countless others—and made me love his character.

The show was Moonlight, and the actor was Alex O’Loughlin. If you haven’t seen his work, you should—and not only because he looks good shirtless. He is an amazing actor and an all-around good guy. Oh, and did I mention the sexy Australian accent? Hmm, wonder why one of the heroes in my series is an Aussie? I have no idea.

Slide1

Alex O’Loughlin

I’ve loved vampires ever since seeing the movie Interview with the Vampire. I hadn’t read a vampire novel before that but I ran out to gather up the first three in Anne Rice’s series. Come on. Who doesn’t love Lestat?

Still, that never inspired me to write.

It was the vampire PI, Mick St. John, on Moonlight who captured my heart enough to make me want to write. To actually publish. To give someone else the same enjoyment I’d received from my new obsession with all things vampire.

Slide2

Alex as Mick St. John

I started like a lot of others, with fan fiction. My Moonlight fanfic was very well received, though it was a long way from the type of writing I would need in order to publish. But it was my start.

From there, I learned all I could about writing—but that is for a future post.

My first manuscript, which is still not fit to see the light of day, was a cross between Interview and Moonlight. I wanted to create a Mick St. John mixed with Lestat—and I did. If I’d only known how to write back then, it might have been great. I hope to rewrite it someday, but I had to leave it behind for now in order to keep moving forward.

At some point I discovered paranormal romance novels. Then erotic paranormal romance. I was hooked. Kresley Cole’s Immortals after Dark Series was an immediate favorite.

My first manuscript did have some wonderful romantic scenes in it, but the fact that the hero and heroine never ended up together meant it was absolutely not a romance.

I eventually decided to write an erotic paranormal romance novel with some of the characters from that original work. This is where Night Therapy, an upcoming novel in my Nocturnal Surrender Series, came from. I started it a while ago, put it on hold and wrote the three novelettes/novellas that precede it in the series, and am now back to working on it again—although, my upcoming surgery will affect the release by at least a month or two. I’m still hoping for a spring release, but it may be early summer.

I have many other stories I’ve begun, but they have been put on hold because the vampires in The Nocturnal Surrender Series are my favorite. They want to come to life. They’re in my head, banging around, yelling at me to let them out. Yes, writers can be a little crazy with their imaginary friends.

Now what was the point I was trying to make? Oh, yeah. That’s right. It’s that inspiration can strike from anywhere, and when it does, you need to grab onto it and let it take you for an amazing ride. I know I’m glad I did.

So what inspires you in life, whether it is to write or to do anything else?

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “My Inspiration for Becoming an Author

  1. Michelle Proulx

    December 10, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Everything inspires me. That sounds so hoity toity, but it’s true. Walking through the park. Watching a movie. Chatting with my friends. Writing elearning courses (that’s my job, lol). I’m not sure how the various ideas I get coalesce into actual stories, but I do know that I draw inspiration from everywhere. But to reference your fanfiction story, I actually got my start writing fanfiction too — I was so ticked off that Sirius Black died that I wrote a massive fanfiction in which he and James Potter don’t die. I still haven’t finished it, much to my eternal shame. I really need to do that, lol.

     
    • Lorraine Pearl

      December 10, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      Michelle, I love that all those things inspire you. I suppose it’s almost impossible for all of our experiences to not influence and inspire our writing in some ways.That has to be a good thing, though.

      Isn’t the fanfic world so wonderful? I think it’s the new breeding ground for upcoming authors.

      And I never finished my fanfic story either. It was about a third of the way done when I got serious about my writing and I had to leave it behind to focus on my series. But I knew exactly what was going to happen in it and how it was going to end. If I ever have time, I’d love to finish it one day–and edit the heck out of what’s already written.

       
      • Michelle Proulx

        December 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm

        Hahaha god yes to the editing. I cringe just thinking about my fanfiction. I started it in grade nine, so … Actually, it would be kind of fun to go back and see how my writing style has evolved since then. I should do that!

         
        • Lorraine Pearl

          December 10, 2012 at 1:16 pm

          Yeah, you should look back at it. I did that a while ago and couldn’t believe how much different–and better–my writing is now. It makes you feel good to be able to see the progress and know all this time and work wasn’t for nothing.

           
          • Michelle Proulx

            December 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm

            Plus it’s fun to read all the reviews from fans. Talk about an ego boost 😀

             
            • Lorraine Pearl

              December 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

              Yeah, but I can’t do that since I pulled my story when I switched to a pen name. I just have to go on memory. My favorite was one that said mine was the best “first time” scene with the two main characters that they’d ever read.

               
              • Michelle Proulx

                December 10, 2012 at 1:23 pm

                High praise!!! My favourite review was one that said my fanfiction was better than the original book. Obviously not true, but still awesome to hear 😀

                 
                • Lorraine Pearl

                  December 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm

                  Wow, now THAT was a great review. Congrats on that one. 🙂 And don’t brush it off so easily. They wouldn’t have said it if they didn’t mean it.

                   
  2. Jessica

    December 12, 2012 at 11:11 am

    Mine are Joss Whedon, fairy tales, Star Trek Enterprise, and Wives and Daughters (my favorite book.). But I must credit The Hitchhikers Guide To the Galaxy for giving me the idea for my current project. Moonlight was a great show it’s a shame it went off the air so soon.

     
    • Lorraine Pearl

      December 12, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      Jessica, those are some great inspirations. I love all the Star Trek movies and shows, but right now we’re stuck on the Star Trek Voyager series. Thank goodness for Netflix. And yeah, it is a shame Moonlight was gone so quick. At least it ended in a good place, though.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Rose-Marie Sorokin

Yoga, meditation, spirituality, writing, retreats, super health

pickyme.wordpress.com/

Specializing In Romance Cover Art

Blackwood's Magazine

Literary Journal

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

Corey D. Truax

Author | Editor | Father of Thor | Veteran | Military Spouse

Author Don Massenzio

Independent Authors Unite!

Skinny and Single

Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

BRIDGET WHELAN writer

August is archive month. Posts from the past

COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

"There is nothing to writing. All you have to do is sit down at a typewriter - and bleed." Ernest Hemingway

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Colleen Chesebro✨The Fairy Whisperer✨

YA Fantasy Novelist, Poet, & Visual Word Artist

The Last Krystallos

Its those silly dreams that keep us alive...

MoodART

Handmade jewelry and wedding decoration

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Girl Meets Monster

Writing, Reading, and Helpful Hints for Dating in the Underworld

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

Circles of Gemstones

Enjoying & understanding semiprecious gemstone jewelry

Romance Debuts

There's nothing like a new romance

Stevie Turner, Indie Author.

A writer writing about writing and life...

Archer's Aim

The speculative fiction of P. H. Solomon

Suffolk Scribblings

All is not quiet in the countryside

Bryn Donovan

tell your stories ~ love your life

brittneysahin

Romance Author

Nina Soden

Writing Supernatural Fiction to Fill Your Dreams & Your Nightmares!

jlynchblogdotcom

Writer: Historical Detective Fiction; Contemporary Fiction; The International Sales Handbook. Writer for Hire

aliencuriosity

Did aliens visit ancient civilizations?

chrismcmullen

Writing, Publishing, and Marketing Ideas

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

ALK3R

Only INTERESTING posts!

Authors Supporting Authors

Authors United to Make Dreams Come True.

Everything Indie

Supporting Indie Authors with Tips, Reviews, and Services

The Literary Game

Editing and Advice for Determined Writers

Penguin Blog

Thoughts and ideas from the world of Penguin

Confessions of a published author

Storyteller, Order of Merlin 1st Class, Master of Potions, Holder of the Golden Snitch, and Author of Infertility, Infidelity, and Insanity

Erotic Romance by Sascha Illyvich

Stories by the Gentleman Playboy of Romance

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

Books: Publishing, Reading, Writing

And, for good measure, a bit of Cooking and Eating

Veronica Bale

MUSINGS, RAMBLINGS AND THE OTHER STUFF IN MY HEAD

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Luke Young

Author of the Friends with Benefits Novels

Ian Dalton

Author of the Victoria Wilde Novels

Lit World Interviews

Share and Spread the Word About These Authors!

Skye Callahan

Feed the Darkness

AJMaguire

Writing Mayhem

Atlanta's CW69

Atlanta's CW69

